Serie A – VAR, reds and chaos: But what happened between Juve and Salernitana?


Serie A – VAR, reds and chaos: But what happened between Juve and Salernitana?
Written by madishthestylebar

What happened ?

Let’s contextualize. Whistled, led at the break by Salernitana (0-2, then 1-2) and on the edge of the precipice after a catastrophic performance, Juventus tears away to equalize in additional time on a penalty converted twice by Leonardo Bonucci (2-2, 90th+2). Two minutes later, the unthinkable happened: Arkadiusz Milik fired an uncrossed header at the near post from a corner and thought he would give the victory to his team (90’+4).

Serie A

The controversy: Deprived of victory by the VAR, Juve enrages


The former OM striker, warned earlier in the game, exults, takes off his jersey, gets a second yellow and therefore sees red. The central referee, Matteo Marcenaro, is then called by the video assistance, which asks him to wait before validating the goal. Leonardo Bonucci would have intervened on the trajectory of the ball, and in an offside position, although the Italian defender did not seem to touch the ball. Surrounded by the players of the two teams, who will almost come to blows, Mr. Marcenaro goes to the screen of the Allianz Stadium. After watching the action in less than ten seconds, he decides to cancel the goal, resulting in real chaos.

Was Bonucci offside?

This is obviously the big question. In this new era of video assistance, however, it would not be necessary. But quickly, screenshots spread on social networks, especially journalists present at the stadiums. When drawing the lines to determine the position of the Italian international, considered in an active position on the goal, the VAR would have forgotten to take into consideration the position of Antonio Candreva, close to the corner post at the time of the header by Milick. Sky Italia reconstructed the episode. In his presumed offside position, Bonucci’s right foot would be 3.42m from the goal line. That of Candreva at 2.90m. If this omission is confirmed, we are therefore talking about a goal wrongly canceled … for more than half a meter.

Bonucci is judged in an active position when he does not touch the ball and does not interfere with defenders or goalkeepers. A puzzling decision, especially for Candreva’s position which seems to hold everyone in play. The VAR assessed, but no image on television showed the lines accordingly (…) The 3-2 seems valid“, writes the edition of the day of The Gazzetta dello Sport. The Serie A League has confirmed daily that Candreva’s position has been taken into account, although no images have been released.

Who was excluded?

The scuffles ended, with no less than 47 people on the lawn, but the spirits still warm, the referee of the evening decided to exclude, in the wake of the canceled goal, Juan Cuadrado (Juve) and Federico Fazio (Salernitana). The Old Lady ends the match at 9 against 10. Out of him after the canceled goal, Massimiliano Allegri, the technician of Juve, is also excluded in stride.

Why was Milik’s red confirmed?

Quite simply because the regulations stipulate it. His goal may have been canceled, but the Polish striker could not see his second yellow card canceled. In addition to having removed his jersey for a goal that was finally canceled, Milik was therefore excluded. Definitely…

What were the reactions?

Bad, of course. On the side of Juve, it is difficult to digest this epilogue. Admittedly, the service delivered Sunday evening by Max Allegri and his men deserves many comments. But the winning goal had been scored. “Candreva’s position keeps me in playpestered Leonardo Bonucci after the meeting. I hope it has been taken into account. And even so, I am not influential in the action even if the referee told me otherwise. In any case, my position is not active.” “I would like to see the full images, with this position of Candreva at the bottom left“, followed in his trainer’s footsteps, who nevertheless wanted to greet a referee whom he judged “very good“and able to”make such a decision at such a delicate moment“.

Can the match be replayed?

The answer is simple: no. The rules of the IFAB (International Football Association Board) are clear: no “mistake“of the VAR cannot be considered as”technical“, which would lead to the cancellation of the result and the repetition of the meeting. The score will therefore remain 2-2.

Champions League

Four Juve supporters arrested for inciting racial hatred

07/09/2022 At 10:53

Champions League

The Neymar-Mbappé recital: “That’s what football is: seeing great players play”

09/07/2022 At 00:38

#Serie #VAR #reds #chaos #happened #Juve #Salernitana


About the author


Leave a Comment